In search of natural treatments

A selection of Beta vulgaris, known as beet ro...

Image via Wikipedia

Eager to have the UFE done as quickly as possible, I scheduled an MRI. The result would eventually reveal that I had two large fibroids (9 cm and 8cm) plus others too numerous to count! As I listened to my doctor, I couldn’t help but notice that he did not seem very enthusiastic about me doing the procedure. When I questioned him about this, he chose his words very carefully. Based on the MRI, I was the perfect candidate for UFE.

I began to seriously doubt whether or not I was making the right decision, so once again I returned to Earthclinic (http://www.earthclinic.com/CURES/fibroids.html) to figure out what I had missed.  I found nothing new. However, through additional research I learned that vitamin C enhances the absorption of iron. This made a lot of sense to me as I had stopped drinking juices (orange juice in particular) because I found them incredibly sweet. I also realized that I hadn’t been eating a lot oranges – I always ate apples, bananas, pineapples, etc. I needed foods with higher vitamin C content.

Further research led me to a discussion about the use of beets, aloe vera juice, and molasses to shrink fibroids.  This seems to be a popular formula among Dominicans. Anyway, I went out and bought some lemons and a few beets – I already had fresh aloe vera juice in the fridge. I figured, why not?  I then juiced and bottled the beets. Every morning and evening I would prepare the following drink:

  • 1 cup beet juice
  • 1/4 cup aloe vera juice
  • 1-2 tablespoons unsulphered blackstrap molasses
  • The juice of one lemon
  • Enough water to fill the glass

After a few days, I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror and my belly looked flatter. I dismissed it though – it had to be my imagination. Next day, same thing – my belly looked flatter than the day before. That’s when I started measuring. I measured below my waist, where the protrusion was greatest, and that day it was 38 inches. Two days later I measured again and it was 36 inches!  I wasn’t imagining it.

Vitamin C! Who knew?

I called my doctor and explained that I wanted to delay the UFE. He sounded pleased.

Comments on: "Uterine Fibroid Embolization (UFE): Should I or Shouldn’t I?" (36)

  1. lvitupgirl said:

    hi, i am very interested in trying out the beet aloe juice you used, i am pretty much in the same boat as you, with large fibroids and my frustration with belly bulge. which stores carry “unsulphered blackstrap molasses” .. would whole foods be a good start ? thats the place i get the aloe juice from. i used to use Aloe juice, just plain juice (abt 1/4 cup in the morning) for a few months and didnt notice any chance. after a few months, i stopped using it. reading your article gives me the inspiration & strength to try it again. Also, are the beets same as beet roots .. the dark purple beets or are they white under the purple skin ?

  2. Wholefoods does carry unsulphered blackstrap molasses (Plantation brand). The reason why the molasses helps is because of the combination of minerals that it contains – magnesium, iron, calcium, potassium, copper, and manganese. Beets (yes, beet root) and aloe vera are anti-inflammatories. Aloe juice by itself will not do much, as the whole point of the mxture is to correct your deficiencies in the afore-mentioned minerals and strenghten your immune system.

    You can obtain fresh aloe vera juice from http://www.aloeverafarms.com or, if you can get the plant, simply peel, rinse the slime away and blend with your beet juice. That is, make your juice, strain, then pour in a blender. Add the freshly rinsed aloe vera and blend. No need to strain as it will simply dissolve and no, it won’t leave a bitter after taste.

  3. lvitupgirl said:

    Thank you “livingwithfibroids” for a quick reply and answers. How long have you been using this juice drink, and are your results permanent or have you noticed any new or re-growths after you stopped using this drink

  4. For me, the results have been permanent – everyone is different however. The truth is, I’ve spent the last three and a half years researching fibroids. Specifically, why I got them in the first place. The result of this will soon be published.

    I can tell you that for a lot of women, the beet juice/drink will help to mitigate some of the symptoms of fibroids – heavy bleeding and anemia.

  5. Lvitupgiril said:

    Thanks for the reply. I was able to find aloe juice and even the Blackstrap molasses in a nearby grocery store (Publix). I just prepared the drink this morning and had it for the first time. I am juicing more beets and bottling them as I speak. Fingers crossed hope this works for my body too 🙂

  6. Good luck! If you want to get really crazy, add some ginger.

  7. Lvitupgiril said:

    Hello I have been using this for 5 full days and on fact I see the opposite effect in my case. My belly seems larger and I definitely gained 3 pounds. Beet juice has increased my appetite and I guess I am eating more than normal.

  8. Hi! How much have you been drinking?

    Your post reminded me of when I was first diagnosed with anemia and prescribed iron tablets. My condition was so dire that my physician had me take one of the tablets before leaving her office and even gave me a few samples to tide me over until I filled the prescription. I hated them! I was hungry all the time. I would eat breakfast and be hungry an hour later. Prior to this, I never ate breakfast.

    My point is that there seems to be a link between anemia and poor appetite. Once you start correcting the deficiency, your appetite returns with a vengeance (in my case).

  9. Hi,

    I’d like to know did your fibroids actually shrink? If so, do you know what percentage? Also are you still consuming the juice mixture? I started taking it yesterday and will post result as they happen. Thank you.

  10. Hi Mel,

    Thanks for your comment. My fibroids have shrunk significantly, but not just because of the beet juice. For a lot of women, the most significant impact the juice will have is that it will improve their iron stores thus improving anemia. You will also notice that: (1) Your periods will be a lot lighter and after a while return to normal (this is what happened in my case.) (2) You will have a lot more energy.

    I still drink the juice, as I notice it causes my cycle to be extremely regular (28 days).

  11. Thanks for responding. It’s very interesting that most people with fibroids complain of anemia and irregular bleeding and cycles. However, I am not symptomatic. I don’t feel ay pain, my periods are extremely regular and only heavy one day. The only thing is that they are getting bigger and I am looking about 2-3 months pregnant and my doctors think its great that I don’t have any discomfort and just say that whenever I am ready I can come have surgery (which I don’t want) what do you think contributed mostly to your fibroids shrinking?

  12. Hi there

    I’ve taken a great interest in your post and I just wanted to share my experiences and thoughts.

    I have multiple fibroids, 12 in fact, ranging from all different sizes with the largest being about 9cm. I’ve been devoutly drinking this beet juice concoction once a day for the past few weeks with quite noticeable results. Apart from reddish urine and stools, I no longer feel bloated and I notice I have increased energy levels from drinking this. I also have much easier bowel motions and I don’t need to urinate as frequently.

    Just before I started this, I also began the first of five Zoladex treatments (in preparation for myomectomy.) I spoke to the Gynaecologist the other day for my second injection and he told me that there is nothing scientifically proven that eating certain foods can shrink fibroids. This got me a bit down because I want to believe in some natural remedy (even though I feel the beet juice has helped).

    I have read that this beet juice can help detoxify the liver, (the liver in turn processes estrogen) but I’m wondering whether there’s any point now, since I’m on Zoladex, which shuts down estrogen anyway?

    Also I just wanted to put it out there, is there a chance that you can over-toxify the liver. Can you have too much of a “good” thing?

    Cas

  13. If you blend all this,how do you take it example a glass twice a day ? can you please explained this into details
    Thanks

  14. As mentioned in the post, I would have a glass of this in the morning and at bed time.

  15. tunnu said:

    Hi,
    i have a fibroid of size 5cm and my doc ask me to get it operated, she prescribed me injection luperon 11.25mg(3 months dose) and i took it. Initially after taking that inj my first cycle was for 10 days,4 days heavy bleeding and rest 6 days very light bleeding but i did not get my next cycle, they say becoz of taking Luperon inj it reduces or temporarly stops your bleeding, but this inj has lot of side effects like bone weakining and many more. My docs also suggested me not to conceive before the fibroid surgery. Reading your post I think i should start your treatment, hope it helps me.

  16. tunnu said:

    please tell me if you have suggestion for me

  17. Hello

    Please I want to know what effect the molasses have on the fibroids.?is it just or pole who are defiicient in iron or has another effect?and how did you store the beet juice you made? Thank you

  18. Thank you for your comment! Blackstrap molasses is a sweetner that, unlike sugar, is packed with minerals and nutrients that promote health – iron, calcium, and magnesium, to name a few.

    I usually make enough beet juice for the week and store it in the freezer.

  19. Thank you?do you store in a glass jar?then are you making any changes to your diet as well?I have a 10th fibroid that I can feel on top of my uterus.thank you for ur help

  20. Yes, I sometimes use a glass jar or BPA free plastic bottles. I’ve made a lot of changes to my diet – most importantly, I’ve removed all processed foods.

    Also, get your vitamin D level checked. I’m pretty sure you are deficient.

  21. Thank you

  22. Cherie said:

    Hi I am just to start this juice as directed but have read some of the other comments and you said that it wasn’t just the juice that made them shrink. Could you please let me know what other life changes you made and also of you cut out all chemicals from you make up and home etc. many thanks Cherie

  23. Hi Cherie,

    Thanks for your comment. Here’s my response to a similar question:

    After years of fibroid research, here’s a few things I’ve discovered that will reduce the bloating:
    •Get your vitamin D level checked, you are probably deficient
    •Make sure your iron levels are normal
    •You should be consuming at least 1000 mg (1 g) of calcium per day, preferably from food
    •Magnesium is also important – daily requirement is 320 mg. Pumpkin seeds are a very good source, also blackstrap molasses – there are others
    •Vitamin C and Fiber are also important. Again, you should be getting these from food
    •Finally, probiotics is your friend – start eating sauerkraut, or maybe kimchee. Natto and kefir are also pretty good

    The point of all this is to strengthen your immune system through food.

    Good luck!

  24. Hello, I have been trying your recipe for almost a month now and have noticed that my stomach has gone up and down, also my stool tends to be reddish. Just recently, I have experience diarrhea along with it, is this normal?

  25. Hi Cecy,

    I know from past research that for some people with iron deficiency, the consumption of beets tends to turn their urine red. This is is the first time I’ve heard about the stool becoming red. However, some quick research tells me that this is normal. Here’s what whfoods.com has to say about it:

    An estimated 10-15% of all U.S. adults experience beeturia (a reddening of the urine) after consumption of beets in everyday amounts. While this phenomenon is not considered harmful in and of itself, it may be a possible indicator of the need for healthcare guidance in one particular set of circumstances involving problems with iron metabolism.

    It’s possible for beet consumption to bring a red color into your bowel movements as well, although this outcome tends to be more common in children than adults. Once again, the production of a reddish color in the stool due to beets is not considered harmful. It’s important, however, to be confident that the reddening of the stool is caused by the pigments found in beets and not by the presence of fresh or dried blood. If you experience reddening of the stool and have not recently (with the past 24-48 hours) consumed beets, we recommend that you consult with your healthcare provider to determine the reason for this change in your stool color.

    Regarding the loose stools, you may need to increase the fiber in your diet and/or lower the amount of blackstrap molasses you are consuming. Maybe start off with just one tablespoon.

  26. Cetana said:

    Hello– Thank you for all this information. I would really like to try the beet root concoction but I’m a little bit wary because I’ve read that aloe vera has estrogenic properties, or stimulates estrogen and that fibroids are thought to grow because of too much estrogen in the body? Also I’ve read that it’s important to avoid sugar -so I’m a little concerned about the black strap molasses. I was wondering if you have any thoughts on this.
    I’m glad it’s working for you and I appreciate you sharing your experience.

  27. Nyc2013OA said:

    Hi Livingwithfibroids, i love your post and thank you for it. I use beet juice (mixed with veggie juice) and it did wonders in decreasing my heavy blood flow. The beets are good in that but what is good in actually shrinking the fibroid? The beetroot? The molasses? The aloe vera juice? The vitamin c? I recently started taking 2,000 to 3,000 mg of vitamin C using supplements. Would supplements help too?

  28. Thanks for your comment! First, try to get your vitamins through food instead of supplements. I’m glad the beet juice is helping but now you may want to have your vitamin D levels checked. A safe bet is that you’re deficient and may need to work with your doctor to remedy this – I started off with about 5,000 IUs per day. Next, you may want to start drinking green tea or taking the supplements – about 300 mg of EGCG per day should help.

  29. Nyc2013OA said:

    Wow, I DID have my Vitamin D levels checked a long while ago and and I AM deficient in vitamin D. Is this the connection or at least part of the connection with fibroids?? I have been haphazardly taking vita Ds. So I will be more diligent on it now. Thanks.

  30. Nyc2013OA said:

    Also how do I increase my vita D besides using supplements and not taking milk?

  31. Yes, women with fibroids have been linked to vitamin D deficiency. One study showed that vitamin D shrank the tumors in rats.

  32. You would need sunshine, specifically from the mid-day sun. Considering that it’s now fall in New York, your best bet is supplements.

  33. Hi!! Thank you for your post and research. I am in the same situation, have been struggling with multiple fibroids for 3 and a half years; did tons of healings, cleansing, herbs etc etc etc..I am very happy for your success with dealing this stubborn “bumps” :))
    I will follow your example and make a commitment for the juice blend, plus fax seeds, no dairy, no meat diet, moderate exercise, vit C and noni juice…for two months :)))
    I will update you guys every now and then. I have a strong feeling it will work this time and I will not sabotage myself!!

  34. Hello there,

    Thank you so much for this amazing information. I was wondering if organic beet juice powder would work as well as fresh organic beet juice? I’m on a budget and buying fresh organic beets for juicing is not an option for me right now.

  35. Hi Lulu,

    Thanks for your comment! If you cannot afford beets right now, just use unsulphered blackstrap molasses and some lemon juice (the vitamin C will help your body absorb the iron in the molasses). When I first started making the drink, I bought regular beets, not the organic ones – if that helps. Also, I’ve never used the powder.

    Happy Holidays!

  36. Thank you so much for the info and the prompt reply as well!

Leave a Reply

